Skip to content ↓

School Information

School Information

At St Saviour’s, we treat safeguarding as a high priority to ensure the safety, health and well-being of all children, staff and visitors.

The Single Central Record (SCR) is a document maintained by the school to demonstrate that staff have undergone appropriate recruitment and police checks. The SCR is updated regularly, especially as and when new staff are recruited.

Governors, volunteers and regular visitors to the school are also recorded on the SCR.

Visitors to the school are required to sign in at the main reception area and are issued with a visitor’s badge. Visitors who do not have appropriate DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service) clearance will not have sole access to children.

We have strong systems in place to ensure all staff know that they may see the DSL in school to discuss any concerns regarding Safeguarding even if the issue seems ‘low level’. Where there is information causing sufficient concern, the matter is discussed between the Headteacher and the Deputy Headteacher to decide if other agencies such as Social Services should be informed of the matter. Where appropriate, parents are informed if the school decides to make a referral to Social Services. In line with their procedures, Social Services may instruct the school that parents should not be informed in particular cases. The school follows Social Services advice with regards to referrals and information sharing.

Safeguarding training is provided regularly for existing staff and forms part of the induction process for all newly appointed staff. The DSL attends forums and update training sessions led by the CWAC to ensure they receive relevant, local information about safeguarding issues.

All staff and governors are familiar with the DfE Keeping Children Safe in Education document which forms the basis of our Safeguarding Policy. This is available on our website.

Contact details for our DSLs can be obtained by emailing the school office on

Our Designated Safeguarding Leads are:

   Mrs Robina Baird                      Mrs Kate Heaton                      Mrs Alison Allen             Miss Aoife Powell